In an effort to unify all devices on the same network, Google added a new feature to the Google Home app (formerly called “Chromecast”). Now, if someone is playing something on a Chromecast in your home, it’ll show a notification on all the Android devices on your network. That means if your daughter is watching My Little Pony all day, you’ll have to deal with notifications letting you know.

This can be useful, but it can also be really annoying. After all, this notification allows them to not only pause and mute the stream, but also close it altogether. Allowing other people to have control of my stream is annoying in the first place, but it can get even more annoying if they don’t understand what this notification is—a simple tap of the “X” to make it go away seems harmless, but it effectively kills someone else’s stream. Annoying.

Fortunately, there’s a way to turn this off. The downside, however, is that it has to be done on each Android phone or tablet—not the cast device itself. That means you’ll have to hijack everyone’s device at some point, ensuring all of your casts are your casts.

There are two ways to get rid of this notification: from the notification itself, or from the Settings menu. We’ll cover both, starting with the former.

Read the full story at How-To Geek.